Genre: Heavy Metal

Members: Tomi Joutsen - vocals
Esa Holopainen - guitar
Tomi Koivusaari - guitar

Official Site:

Band Bio: Taking their name from the word "amorphous" meaning 'no determinate form or shape', Finland's most creative and acclaimed metal band have certainly lived up to their name along the course of their ten year history. With a vast set of musical influences amongst their membership, Amorphis have taken large strides with each consecutive album and have reached their most ambitious plateau yet. Boasting a sound more aligned with '70s progressive rock bands than modern day metal acts, Amorphis aren't afraid to let go of their past and fly into uncharted territories inspired by their Finnish heritage. The band have always stood against the trends of the day and forged their own unique style amongst hordes of sound-alikes and pretenders Formed around the duo of lead guitarist Esa Holopainen and drummer Jan Rechberger, the two quickly picked up vocalist/ guitarist Tomi Koivusaari. Bassist Olli-Pekka Laine joined shortly after, and Amorphis recorded their one and only demo, Disment of Soul, in mid-91. On the strength of this demo, Amorphis secured a multi-album deal with Relapse Records and immediately recorded six songs, two of which were released as a limited edition 7" EP.