Drama Desk Award Nominations Are Announced

April 21, 2020, 11:17.34 pm ET  

Drama Desk Award Nominations Are Announced 
Photo: Seared/Joan Marcus                                                                                                      

The 65th Annual Drama Desk Awards were announced by Seth Rudetsky and James Wesley, creators of the webcast “Stars in the House” on Tuesday, April 21. The virtual ceremony will take place on May 31. 

The most nominations were given to the Public Theater’s production of the musical “Soft Power” (11) and MCC Theater’s production of the musical “The Wrong Man” (9). Among the many shows receiving multiple nominations were “The Inheritance,” “A Strange Loop,” “The Secret Life of Bees,” “West Side Story” and “The Unsinkable Molly Brown.”

Noted actors who received nominations in various categories include Laura Linney, Adrienne Warren, Raul Esparza, David Alan Grier, Lois Smith, LaChanze, Elizabeth Stanley, Christian Borle, Charles Busch, Ruth Negga, Francis Jue, Beth Malone, Joshua Henry and Conrad Ricamora.

Other well-known nominees include David Henry Hwang, Kathleen Marshall, Lynn Nottage, Stephen Daldry, Camille A. Brown, Duncan Sheik, Tom Kitt, Thomas Kail, Catherine Zuber and Steve Earle.

Rudetsky and Wesley, along with the Actors Fund, were among the special recipients of awards this year, which also included the acting ensemble of “Octet,” actress Mary Bacon. The Public Theater Mobile Unit, WP Theater and its late founder, Julia Miles, and Claire Warden.

For a complete list of nominees, visit DramaDeskAwards.com


Get Email Updates

Leave a Comment