Winners announced for Lucille Lortel Awards

May 4, 2020, 5:20.50 pm ET  

Winners announced for Lucille Lortel Awards
       Photo: Heroes of the Fourth Turning                                                                                        

The 35th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were presented on Sunday, May 3. Award recipients were announced during a special livestream broadcast hosted by Mario Cantone as a benefit for The Actors Fund, with the Lortel Foundation pledging $50,000 to their Emergency Grant Program, and an additional $50,000 to TDF. 

Featured presenters included Jelani Alladin, Rachel Dratch, Jordan Fisher, Jackie Hoffman, Andy Karl, Nathan Lane, Tatiana Maslany, Debra Messing, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Nyambi Nyambi, Kelli O'Hara, Orfeh, Steven Pasquale, Lauren Patten, Alison Pill, Jeremy Pope, Condola Rashad, Krysta Rodriguez, Phillipa Soo, Sonya Tayeh, Marisa Tomei, Michael Urie and Phoebe Waller-Bridge.

Winners were announced in 19 competitive categories, with Will Arbery’s “Heroes of the Fourth Turning” winning three awards including Best Play, and Dave Molloy’s “Octet,” winning three awards including Best Musical. Winners also included such actors as Christian Borle, Emily Davis, Edmond Donovan, Frances Jue, Grace McLean, Deirdre O’Connell, Larry Owens and Michele Pawk.

Special honorees this year included Playwrights Horizons’ artistic director Tim Sanford, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award; and Anna Deavere Smith, inducted onto the famed Playwrights’ Sidewalk in front of the historic Lucille Lortel Theatre.

For more information, visit

Get Email Updates

Leave a Comment