Chelsea Symphony to Present Shuying Liís World Map Concertos

May 11, 2023, 6:04.44 pm ET  


The Chelsea Symphony, in collaboration with composer Shuying Li, presents Li’s World Map concertos, featuring members of the Four Corners Ensemble, on Friday, May 26 at 8pm at Merkin Concert Hall (129 West 67th Street.)

These original pieces journey to different corners and regions around the world in their influence, highlighting the diverse backgrounds of each ensemble member. Four Corners Ensemble is comprised of founder Shuying Li, Erika Boysen (flute), Ayako Oshima (clarinet), Christina Adams (violin), Juliette Herlin (cello), and Mi-Eun Kim (piano).

The event will also showcase an array of conductors including The Chelsea Symphony’s Artistic directors Matthew Aubin and Mark Seto and staff conductors Reuben Blundell and Nell Flanders.

To bookend the piece’s theme of connection and exploration, TCS Composer-in-Residence, Aaron Dai opens the evening with the world premiere of “Amuse Bouche” and closes with John Luther Adams’s “Become River.”

For tickets, please visit

Latest Cititour News

Portland's Salt & Straw Ice Cream to Pop-Up in East Village
May 30, 2023, 6:48 pm ET
Get the details.

Al Fresco Brunching at Bowery Garden
May 30, 2023, 6:28 pm ET
Get the details.

NYC Bites - The Scoop on NYC's Food Scene
May 28, 2023, 11:36 am ET
Get the details.

Get Email Updates

Leave a Comment