The Citiblog

March 30, 2021, 5:38.41 pm ET


Photo: Drama League

The Drama League has announced the 2021 Nominees and Special Recognition Honorees for the 87th Annual Drama League Awards, which will be streamed on Friday, May 21 at 7pm.

This year, the organization has established five unique categories, Outstanding Digital Theater, Individual Production; Outstanding Digital Theater, Collection or Festival; Outstanding Interactive or Socially-Distanced Theater; Outstanding Audio Theater Production; and Outstanding Digital Concert, to honor the extraordinary achievements of artists across the nation who created digital and socially-distanced theatrical productions The 33 nominated productions were selected from submissions by over 400 directors and theatre professionals who are the alumni of The Drama League’s support programs for directors.

In addition, the Drama League Awards’ 2021 Special Recognition Honorees will go to Iris Smith, who will receive the inaugural Gratitude Award for her fearless support of the the Drama League and the theater community at large; Liesl Tommy, who will be presented with the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing for her extraordinary work on stages across the country and commitment to mentorship in the field; father-daughter duo Richard & Demi Weitz, who will be honored with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award for their creation of the “Quarantunes” series, which provides a virtual platform for musical theater artists and generated over $20 million in funds for nonprofits across the country; and The Actors Fund, the recipient of the Unique Contribution to Theater Award for its emergency relief efforts through COVID-19, the Winter Storms, and Oregon Wildfires this past season and its ongoing commitment to providing resources for artists.

For a complete list of nominees, visit