The Citiblog

Stereophonic Scores Big at Critics Awards
May 13, 2024, 1:15.42 pm ET


Photo: Stereophonic/Julieta Cervantes

Theatre awards season is in full swing, with three major critics associations making major announcements on Monday.

The New York Drama Critics Circle named David Adjmi’s “Stereophonic” as the best play of the 2023-24 season. The award for best musical went to “Dead Outlaw,” which features music and lyrics by David Yazbek and Erik Della Penna, and a book by Itamar Moses. The awards, which will be presented during a private ceremony on Tuesday, May 21, include a cash prize of $2,500 for best play, made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

In addition, a joint special citation was awarded to the revivals of “Merrily We Roll Along” and “Purlie Victorious.” A joint special citation was also awarded to married actors Maryann Plunkett and Jay O. Sanders for lifetime achievement A third special citation was awarded to writer-composer Heather Christian, whose “Terce: A Practical Breviary” premiered this season.

Photo: Merrily We Roll Along/MurphyMade

Meanwhile, the winners of the 2024 Outer Critics Circle Awards were announced on Monday. They will be honored on Thursday, May 23 in a ceremony to take place at the Bruno Walter Auditorium at the Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.

Productions that will be honored include “Stereophonic,” “Suffs,” “Appropriate”, “Dead Outlaw”, “Primary Trust,” “Oh, Mary!,” and “I Can Get It For You Wholesale.” Performers who will be honored include Jessica Lange, Kelli O’Hara, Kecia Lewis, Kara Young, Andrew Durand, Judy Kuhn, William Jackson Harper, Thom Sesma, Jay O. Sanders, Cole Escola, and Patrick Page; while creative personnel who will be honored include Daniel Aukin, Jessica Stone, Justin Peck, Shaina Tauba, Marco Paguia, David Zinn, Paul Tate dePoo III, Linda Cho, Brian McDevitt, Ryan Rumery, and Peter Negrini.

Finally, GALECA (The Society of Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics) have announced their nominees for the Dorian Awards for Theater, with the winners set to be announced on June 1. “Stereophonic” and “Merrily We Roll Along,” each received six nominations; “Suffs,” “Illinoise,” and “Lempicka” received five nominations apiece; while Off-Broadway favorites “Oh, Mary,” “Teeth,” and “Here We Are” received four nominations each.

In addition, six LGBTQ artists -- “Merrily” star Jonathan Groff, “Oh, Mary” stars Cole Escola and Conrad Ricamora, “Ibsen’s Ghost” star Charles Busch, “Bark of Millions” star Taylor Mac, and “Appropriate” star “Sarah Paulson” each received double nominations, both for their performances this season and for either the LGBTQ Artist of the Year or the LGTBQ Theatre Trailblazer Award.