The Citiblog

Stereophonic, The Outsiders Lead the Tony Awards
June 16, 2024, 11:39.33 pm ET


Photo: Stereophonic/Julieta Cervantes

The 77th Annual Tony Awards were held at 8pm on Sunday, June 16 at the David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center. The awards aired live on Pluto TV and the CBS Television Network, and streamed on Paramount+ in the U.S.

This year’s winners included “Stereophonic,” which won five awards, including Best Play, Best Director for Daniel Aukin and Best Featured Actor for Will Brill; “The Outsiders,” which won four awards, including Best Musical and Best Director Danya Taymor, “Merrily We Roll Along,” which won four awards, including Best Revival, Best Actor in a Musical for Jonathan Groff and Best Featured Actor in a Musical for Daniel Radcliffe, and “Appropriate,” which won three awards, including Best Revival of a Play and Best Actress in a Play for Sarah Paulson.

Other notable winners included Jeremy Strong for Lead Actor in a Play for “An Enemy of the People,” Maleah Joi Moon for Best Actress in a Musical for “Hell’s Kitchen,” Kecia Lewis for Best Featured in Actress in a Musical for “Hell’s Kitchen,” Kara Young for Best Featured Actress in a Play for “Purlie Victorious,” Shaina Taub for Best Book of a Musical and Best Score for “Suffs,” and Justin Peck for Best Choreography for “Illinoise.”

Photo: The Outsiders/Matthew Murphy

Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to directors George C. Wolfe and Jack O’Brien, while actor Billy Porter received the annual Isabelle Stevenson Award.

Ariana DeBose returned as the evening’s host. Presenters included Utkarsh Ambudkar, Nate Burleson, Hillary Clinton, Cynthia Erivo, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Harvey Fiersetin, Josh Gad, Renée Elise Goldsberry, Sean Hayes, Taraji P. Henson, Julianne Hough, Jennifer Hudson, Angelina Jolie, Nick Jonas, Audra McDonald, Idina Menzel, Ashley Park, Jim Parsons, Wendell Pierce, Ben Platt, Anthony Ramos, Andrew Rannells, Solomon Thomas, Taylor Tomlinson, Tamara Tunie, Adrienne Warren, Patrick Wilson and Jeffrey Wright.

Additionally, there were star-studded performances from nine of this year’s nominated shows: “Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club,” “Hell’s Kitchen,” (featuring a special duet by composer Alicia Keys and Jay-Z), “Illinoise,” “Merrily We Roll Along,” “Stereophonic,” “Suffs,” “The Outsiders,” “The Who’s Tommy” (featuring composer Pete Townshend) and “Water for Elephants.”

There was also a special salute to the late Chita Rivera, led by Audra McDonald, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Bebe Neuwirth and Ariana Debose, and Nicole Scherzinger, star of the upcoming Broadway revival of “Sunset Boulevard,” sang “What I Did for Love” to accompany the annual “In Memoriam” segment.